the webby awards
July 19, 2001
the webby awardsthe people's voicewebbys in motioncall for entriespresssponsors

nominees + winners
winners
archived nominees
judging
the awards event
webby history

search



watch the webcast july 18th



2001 Nominees

the best of the web

The risk takers. The innovators. The believers. The 5th Annual Webby Awards Winners.

From online galleries and up-to-the-second news sources, to interplanetary exploration and cyber-communities, The Webby Awards winners and nominees exemplify the kinds of sites that Internet users visit daily for information and entertainment.

The Academy members for this year's event have selected these sites to be this year's best of the web - the ultimate bookmark. How does this process of selection happen? Find out here.

These nominees were also eligible for the People's Voice Awards, where you, the online community choose the winners that *you believe to be the most outstanding in each category. Check them out below and cast your vote for the best by July 4, 2001.

Winners were announced Wednesday, July 18th at The 5th Annual Webby Awards ceremony in San Francisco. Relive the experience via our archived webcast, hosted by Sam Donaldson right here, at webbyawards.com and abcnews.com.

and the nominees are...

activism

webby award winner

VolunteerMatch
www.volunteermatch.org

people's voice winner

act for change
www.actforchange.com
  nominees
  act for change   www.actforchange.com  
  Independent Media Center   www.indymedia.org  
  PETA   www.peta-online.org  
  Protest Net   www.protest.net  
  VolunteerMatch   www.volunteermatch.org  

back to top

art

webby award winner

YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES
www.yhchang.com
  nominees
  1:1   www.c5corp.com/1to1  
  Apartment   www.turbulence.org/Works/apartment  
  Glasbead   www.glasbead.com  
  YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES   www.yhchang.com  
  Potatoland   http://www.potatoland.org  

back to top

broadband

webby award winner

Heavy
www.heavy.com

people's voice winner

Yahoo! Finance Vision
financevision.yahoo.com
  nominees
  120 Seconds   www.120seconds.com  
  Heavy   www.heavy.com  
  Once Upon A Forest   www.once-upon-a-forest.com  
  Pulitzer Newseum - Photos   www.newseum.org/pulitzer/shock/shock.htm  
  Yahoo!Finance Vision   financevision.yahoo.com  

back to top

commerce

webby award winner

Travelocity
www.travelocity.com

people's voice winner

CafePress.com
www.cafepress.com
  nominees
  CafePress.com   www.cafepress.com  
  GORPtravel.com   gorptravel.gorp.com  
  Half.com   www.half.com  
  mySimon   www.mysimon.com  
  Travelocity   www.travelocity.com  

back to top

community

webby award winner

craigslist
www.craigslist.org

people's voice winner

Winner Site Name
www.craigslist.org
  nominees
  Beliefnet   www.beliefnet.com  
  ChickClick   www.chickclick.com  
  craigslist   www.craigslist.org  
  Kuro5hin   www.kuro5hin.org  
  {fray}   www.fray.com (and .org)  

back to top

education

webby award winner

NationalGeographic.com
www.nationalgeographic.com

people's voice winner

NationalGeographic.com
www.nationalgeographic.com
  nominees
  A Biography of America   www.learner.org/biographyofamerica  
  ExploreMath   www.exploremath.com  
  NationalGeographic.com   www.nationalgeographic.com  
  The New York Times Learning Network   www.nytimes.com/learning  
  Nova Online   www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova  

back to top

fashion

webby award winner

Hint Fashion Magazine
www.hintmag.com

people's voice winner

HOTorNOT
www.hotornot.com
  nominees
  CELINE   www.celine.com  
  eLUXURY   www.eluxury.com  
  Hint Fashion Magazine   www.hintmag.com  
  Kirna ZabÍte   www.kirnazabete.com  
  SoWear   www.sowear.com  

back to top

film

webby award winner

Requiem For A Dream
www.requiemforadream.com

people's voice winner

Requiem For A Dream
www.requiemforadream.com
  nominees
  Eveo   www.eveo.com  
  indieWIRE   www.indiewire.com  
  The New Venue   www.newvenue.com  
  Psycho Studio   www.saulbass.net/psychostudio  
  Requiem For A Dream   www.requiemforadream.com  

back to top

finance

webby award winner

Yahoo! Finance
finance.yahoo.com

people's voice winner

Motley Fool
www.thefool.com
  nominees
  CBS MarketWatch   www.cbs.marketwatch.com  
  The Motley Fool   www.fool.com  
  MyCiti.com   www.myciti.com  
  PayPal   www.paypal.com  
  Yahoo! Finance   finance.yahoo.com  

back to top

games

webby award winner

3d Groove
www.3dgroove.com

people's voice winner

IGN
www.ign.com
  nominees
  3D Groove   www.3dgroove.com  
  Gamasutra   www.gamasutra.com  
  GameLab   www.gmlb.com  
  MyVideoGames.com   www.myvideogames.com  
  SiSSYFiGHT   www.sissyfight.com  

back to top

govt

webby award winner

Nolo Self-Help Law Center
www.nolo.com

people's voice winner

YourCongress.com
www.yourcongress.com
  nominees
  City of Sydney   www.cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au  
  Cornell Legal Information Institute   www.law.cornell.edu  
  ICOURTHOUSE   www.icourthouse.com  
  Nolo Self-Help Law Center   www.nolo.com  
  YourCongress.com   www.yourcongress.com  

back to top

health

webby award winner

Planned Parenthood Golden Gate
www.ppgg.org

people's voice winner

ThriveOnline
www.thriveonline.com
  nominees
  HIV STOPS WITH ME   www.hivstopswithme.org  
  Medbroadcast   www.medbroadcast.com  
  Planned Parenthood Golden Gate   www.ppgg.org  
  teenwire   www.teenwire.com  
  ThriveOnline   www.thriveonline.com  

back to top

humor

webby award winner

The Onion
www.theonion.com

people's voice winner

The Onion
www.theonion.com
  nominees
  FuckedCompany   www.fuckedcompany.com  
  Modern Humorist   www.modernhumorist.com  
  NATIONAL LAMPOON DOTCOM   www.nationallampoon.com  
  The Onion   www.theonion.com  
  SatireWire   www.satirewire.com  

back to top

kids

webby award winner

Fact Monster
www.factmonster.com

people's voice winner

AfriCam
www.africam.com
  nominees
  AfriCam   www.africam.com  
  Fact Monster   www.factmonster.com  
  LUGNET   www.lugnet.com  
  Student Coalition for Alternatives to the MCAS   www.scam-mcas.org  
  teenwire   www.teenwire.com  

back to top

living

webby award winner

Campaign for our Children
www.cfoc.org

people's voice winner

The Knot
www.theknot.com
  nominees
  Baby Center   www.babycenter.com  
  Campaign For Our Children   www.cfoc.org  
  ChickClick   www.chickclick.com  
  Epicurious   www.epicurious.com  
  The Knot   www.theknot.com  

back to top

music

webby award winner

sputnik7
www.sputnik7.com

people's voice winner

Live365.com
www.live365.com
  nominees
  Erykah Badu   www.erykahbadu.com  
  Live365.com   www.live365.com  
  Motown.com   www.motown.com  
  sonicnet.com   www.sonicnet.com  
  sputnik7   www.sputnik7.com  

back to top

news

webby award winner

[Inside]
www.inside.com

people's voice winner

CNN
www.cnn.com
  nominees
  BCC News Online   news.bbc.co.uk  
  CNN   www.cnn.com  
  Inside   www.inside.com  
  Salon   www.salon.com  
  CNET News.Com   www.news.com  

back to top

personal

webby award winner

Dancing Paul
www.dancingpaul.com

people's voice winner

LiveJournal
www.livejournal.com
  nominees
  Blogger   www.blogger.com  
  Dancing Paul   www.dancingpaul.com  
  douglaspearce.com   www.douglaspearce.com  
  {fray}   www.fray.com  
  BOAR.DOM   www.boar.com  

back to top

politics

webby award winner

OpenSecrets.org
www.opensecrets.org

people's voice winner

CNN.com - AllPolitics
www.cnn.com/allpolitics
  nominees
  CNN.com - AllPolitics   www.cnn.com/allpolitics  
  Orvetti.com   www.orvetti.com  
  Hotline Scoop   www.hotlinescoop.com  
  NPR Election 2000   www.npr.org/news/national/election2000  
  OpenSecrets.org   www.opensecrets.org  

back to top

print

webby award winner

Plastic
www.plastic.com

people's voice winner

Nerve
www.nerve.com
  nominees
  Feed Magazine   www.feedmag.com  
  Mother Jones Magazine   www.motherjones.com  
  Nerve   www.nerve.com  
  Plastic   www.plastic.com  
  The Position.com   www.theposition.com  

back to top

radio

webby award winner

BBC World Service
www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice

people's voice winner

Fresh Air
search.npr.org/freshair
  nominees
  BBC World Service   www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice  
  COMFM   www.comfm.fr  
  Fresh Air   search.npr.org/freshair  
  StormLive   www.stormlive.com  
  Youth Radio   www.youthradio.org  

back to top

science

webby award winner

Plus Magazine
plus.maths.org

people's voice winner

Molecular Expressions
www.micro.magnet.fsu.edu/index.html
  nominees
  7Stones   www.7stones.com/
Homepage/Publisher/Tut02.html
 
  Dive and Discover   www.divediscover.whoi.edu  
  Molecular Expressions   www.micro.magnet.fsu.edu/index.html  
  Plus Magazine   plus.maths.org  
  Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution   www.whoi.edu  

back to top

services

webby award winner

VolunteerMatch
www.volunteermatch.org

people's voice winner

LiveJournal
www.livejournal.com
  nominees
  PayPal   www.paypal.com  
  PlanetFeedback   www.planetfeedback.com  
  SHOUTcast   www.shoutcast.com  
  Vindigo   www.vindigo.com  
  Volunteer Match   www.volunteermatch.org  

back to top

spirituality

webby award winner

Zen
www.do-not-zzz.com

people's voice winner

Kids 4 Truth
www.kids4truth.com
  nominees
  BuddhaNet   www.buddhanet.net  
  Council on Spiritual Practices   www.csp.org  
  Kids 4 Truth   www.kids4truth.com  
  World Prayers   www.worldprayers.org  
  ZEN   www.do-not-zzz.com  

back to top

sports

webby award winner

Swell
www.swell.com

people's voice winner

ESPN
espn.go.com
  nominees
  bowl.com   www.bowl.com  
  CBS SportsLine.com   cbs.sportsline.com  
  ESPN.com   espn.go.com  
  Planet Rugby   www.planetrugby.com  
  Swell   www.swell.com  

back to top

tech

webby award winner

MicroSoft Windows Update
windowsupdate.microsoft.com
  nominees
  iMode by NTT DoCoMo   www.nttdocomo.com  
  Microsoft Windows Update   windowsupdate.microsoft.com  
  Popular Power   www.popularpower.com  
  QuickBase   www.quickbase.com  
  Rocket Network   www.rocketnetwork.com  

back to top

travel

webby award winner

Expedia
www.expedia.com

people's voice winner

Frommers.com
www.frommers.com
  nominees
  Expedia   www.expedia.com  
  Frommers.com   www.frommers.com  
  iExplore   www.iexplore.com  
  IgoUgo   www.igougo.com  
  Tom Parsons' Bestfares.com   www.bestfares.com  

back to top

tv

webby award winner

PBS Online
www.pbs.org

people's voice winner

PBS Online
www.pbs.org
  nominees
  ESPN.com   espn.go.com  
  History Channel   www.historychannel.com  
  NBC Olympics   www.nbcolympics.com  
  nickjr.com   www.nickjr.com  
  PBS Online   www.pbs.org  

back to top

weird

webby award winner

Peter Pan's Home Page
www.pixyland.org/peterpan

people's voice winner

Peter Pan's Home Page
www.pixyland.org/peterpan
  nominees
  Bigfoot Field Researchers Organization   www.bfro.net  
  Disinformation   www.disinformation.com  
  FORTEAN TIMES ONLINE   www.forteantimes.com  
  Peter Pan's Home Page   www.pixyland.org/peterpan  
  Weird N.J.   www.weirdnj.com  

back to top

best practices

webby award winner

Google
www.google.com
  nominees
  Amazon   www.amazon.com  
  {fray}   www.fray.com  
  Google   www.google.com  
  Slashdot   www.slashdot.com  
  Yahoo!   www.yahoo.com  

back to top



2001 winners

activism
arts
broadband
commerce
community
education
fashion
film
finance
games
government + law
health
humor
kids
living
music
news
personal web site
politics
print + zines
radio
science
services
spirituality
sports
technical achievement
travel
tv
weird

best practices